“Allow Me to Introduce… Martha!”


Minow and Faust (3).jpg
Harvard University President Drew Gilpin Faust appeared on the HLS Campus on Wednesday, Sept. 2nd to present Prof. Minow as the new HLS Dean

Harvard University President Drew Gilpin Faust announced to the HLS community on June 11 that Jeremiah Smith Jr. Professor of Law Martha Minow had been selected as the next Dean of Harvard Law School. A professor at HLS since 1981, the selection of Minow continues the tradition of selecting the Dean from among the members of the Law School’s faculty.

As a graduate of the Harvard Graduate School of Education and recipient of the Sacks-Freund medal for teaching excellence, Minow is likely to continue Dean Kagan’s efforts to improve the law student experience and recruit professors that are recognized for their teaching skills. Minow became the twelfth Dean of HLS and second woman to hold that title on July 1, 2009.

In her press release announcing the appointment, Faust praised both Dean Minow and then-Acting Dean Howell E. Jackson ’82 for their excellent service to HLS and the Harvard community. She also expressed gratitude toward Elena Kagan ’86 for the “transformative positive impact” of her deanship.

A ceremony was held on September 2, 2009 to formally recognize the ascension of Prof. Minow to the deanship. President Faust admitted that it felt a little awkward attempting to introduce a long-time HLS?professor such as Minow to the law school community. She praised Minow for her devotion to the Harvard community and her academic acheivements and expressed confidence in the continued success of the law school under Minow’s stewardship.

Former Acting Dean Howell E. Jackson ’82 was in attendance and received applause for his work administering the law school during the several months of transition between the tenures of Dean Kagan and Dean Minow.

(Visited 28 times, 1 visits today)