Faust convenes committee to search for new dean


Drew Gilpin Faust

With a Senate Judiciary Committee vote to confirm Dean Elena Kagan ’86 as the next Solicitor General of the United States imminent, Harvard University has turned to the task of selecting a new law school dean. On Friday, February 20th, University President Drew Gilpin Faust emailed the Harvard Law School community with information on the search for the school’s new chief administrator. After thanking prospective Acting Dean Howell Jackson ’82 for his help and support in guiding the school’s administration while Kagan prepares for accession to her new post, Faust announced that a cadre of senior HLS faculty members had been named to an advisory board in order to assist her search.

The group, which includes Vice Dean William Alford ’77, former Ambassador to the Vatican Mary Ann Glendon, and Professors Anne Alstott, Richard Fallon, John Goldberg, Randall Kennedy, Reinier Kraakman, Daryl Levinson, Robert Mnookin ’68, Carol Steiker ’86, and George Triantis, will also benefit from the outside guidance of Faculty of Arts and Sciences member Nancy Rosenblum, who is chair of the Government Department.

Faust also announced that she would be seeking advice and ideas from the larger Harvard Law School community, including from additional faculty members, staff, and students. She has set up an email address for community members to submit their thoughts, as well as nominations for the deanship. The university president said that she was also accepting letters posted to her office in Massachusetts Hall.

According to Prospective Interim Dean Jackson, the search process should take five to six months to complete.

(Visited 94 times, 1 visits today)