Alumni in the Administration: Bansal and Genachowski (plus Kaine to DNC)


Julius Genachowski ’91 Named Chair of FCC

Julius Genachowski, who served as a notes editor for the Harvard Law Review while President Barack Obama ’91 was its head, will be the next Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission. Genachowski was the General Counsel of the FCC under Chairman Reed Hundt and has served on the boards of directors of numerous public companies. After graduating from HLS, Genachowski did clerkships under Judge Abner Mikva of the D.C. Circuit, Justice William J. Brennan and Justice David Souter.

Tim Kaine ’83 to be Chairman of DNC

Virginia Governor Tim Kaine will replace Vermont Governor Howard Dean as the next head of the Democratic National Committee. A vote on Wednesday confirmed the transition, which will see one of the key strategists of Barack Obama’s successful 50-state presidential campaign succeeded by a key early supporter of Obama. Kaine’s endorsement of Obama helped secure an electoral victory in Virginia, and during his time as Governor the state has shifted from two Republican senators and an 8-3 majority of Republican representatives to two Democratic senators and a 6-5 majority of Democratic representatives. In his acceptance speech, Kaine promised to continue Howard Dean’s work organizing grassroots support in all 50 states.

Preeta Bansal ’89 Named OMB General Counsel, Senior Policy Advisor

Ms. Bansal is a partner at Skadden, Arps in New York City and a Commissioner on the U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom. She has previously served as the Solicitor General of New York. She graduated magna cum laude in 1989 and clerked for Justice John Paul Stevens.

(Visited 15 times, 1 visits today)