Justice Breyer presides over 97th Ames Moot Court Competition


The Harper Lee Team received the award for best brief
Ames winning oralists David Zimmer ’09 and Ishan Bhabha ’09. Zimmer received the award for best oral arguments

On a day that witnessed its namesake rewarded with the Law School’s highest honor, the Honorable Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry Team took home top honors at the 97th annual Ames Moot Court Competition on Tuesday night. The Harper Lee Team was awarded Best Brief, while the Chaudhry Team won best oralist.

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court Stephen G. Breyer ’64 presided as Chief. Breyer was accompanied on the panel by Judge Frank Hull of the 11th Circuit, and Judge Marsha Siegel Berzon of the Ninth Circuit. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr. ’79 was to preside, however a death in his family kept him from participating.

Members of the Chaudhry Team were Ishan Bhabha, Jonathan Cooper, Alexandra Davies, Christina Krause, Logan Steiner, and David Zimmer. The Harper Lee Team was represented by Kristin Bateman, Douglas Brayley, Eric Nguyen Elyse Schneiderman, Phil Tedesco, and John Ward.

(Visited 81 times, 1 visits today)