Teams Advance to Ames Moot Court Finals


After months of hard work, twelve 2Ls won the right to compete in the Ames Moot Court Competition finals in the semifinal rounds March 18 and 19, organized by the Board of Student Advisers. On the 18th, the Honorable Ifitkhar Muhammad Chaudhry Team defeated the Annette Abbot Adams Memorial team, in front of a panel of the Hon.

Robert Katzmann, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, Hon. Patrick J. Schiltz, United States District Court for the District of Minnesota, and Hon. Scott A. Brister, Texas Supreme Court. The Chaudhry team won Best Brief, with Best Oralist honors going to Katherine Reilly of the Adams team. The winning team consists of Jonathan Cooper, Alexandra Davies, Christina Krause, Logan Steiner, and David Zimmer.

On the 19th, the John Hart Ely Memorial team topped the Lemma Barkeloo Memorial Team, judged by Hon. Michael Boudin, United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. Hon. John M. Ferren, District of Columbia Court of Appeals, and Hon. Robert P. Young, Jr., Michigan Supreme Court. The Ely team won both Best Brief and Best Oralist, which was given to Eric Nguyen.

The rest of the Ely team is Kristin Bateman, Douglas Brayley, Elyse Schneiderman, Phil Tedesco, and John Ward.The final round will take place in fall 2008. Judges traditionally include two circuit court judges and a Justice of the Supreme Court.

(Visited 42 times, 1 visits today)